EKC 2019

The 2nd European Kubb Championships

We are proud to announce that the EKC 2019 in Antwerp (BEL) on the 5th and 6th of July 2019 will be the second European Kubb Championships, that are supported by national Kubb associations. The tournament includes the 1vs1-EKC, the 3vs3-EKC, the 6vs6-EKC and the EKC Freshman’s Cup – a 3vs3 tournament for amateurs and less ambitious teams.

The goal of the EKC is the support of the national spirit of every Kubb nation. Therefore the teams and players won’t just fight for themselves – they will earn points for their nation, trying to win the overall medal count and therefore win the EKC as the best European nation of Kubb!


three days full of HIGH QUALITY kubb

*Note that some changes to the schedule may be possible. 


antwerp – the place to play Kubb

Antwerp is the hotspot for Belgian Kubb. It’s not only the capital of the province with the same name, it’s also the largest city in Belgium. In the past years, two Belgian championships have already been organized in this beautiful city and with only 30 minutes travel time, it is easily accessible by public transport from Brussels National airport. Antwerp also has its own airport but unfortunately does not have as many connections as Brussels airport.

The tournament will take place at the sports ground in the “Kastanjedreef” which lies directly next to the border of the river “Schelde”, the famous citybeach “Sint-Anneke” and public swimming pools. Right next to the playing fields is camping available with all the necessary facilities such as toilets and showers. The closeness to the city centre allows an uncomplicated and flexible travel inside the city.

Adress playing field: Kastanjedreef, 2050 Antwerp


how to get to the tournament

Public Transportation

There are two trains per hour from Brussels National Airport to Antwerp Central Station. From there you can take a 5min walk to the “Franklin Rooseveltplaats”, where you can take the bus to the nearest bus stop Antwerpen Gloriantlaan, which is approx. 500m away from the tournament place.

You can take the bus line 36 from the station “F. Rooseveltplaats”, where the bus leaves nearly every 15 minutes (h.14m – h.28m – h.43m).

You can find more information on the website of the Belgian public transportation or on Google Maps:


If you’re going to travel by car, we recommend you to use a digital navigation system. There you can put in the address (see above) and it will guide you to the sports ground. Outside the tournament area is a parking area, which allows a parking time of 7 days in a row (so you could leave your car or camper there for the whole weekend).

Important: If you travel by car please make sure to check if your vehicle is allowed to enter the city of Antwerp at antwerpen.be because the most polluting vehicles may no longer enter the city. These include older diesel-powered cars and very old petrol-powered cars. More detailed information you can find at www.slimnaarantwerpen.be

If your vehicle is NOT admitted you can buy a day pass or a week pass which will allow you the enter the city. If you don’t do that please remember that the minium fine is 150 EUROS per day!!


The nearest bus stop is “Antwerpen Gloriantlaan” and approx. 500m away from the tournament place. 

Here is the detailed situation plan for walking from the bus station:


where to stay the night


There is a public camping ground right next to the tournament place. If you are interested in camping, visit their website and book your stay here: Camping de Molen

Hostels / Hotels / Appartments

As Antwerp is the biggest City in Belgium, the variaty of accomodations across town is also great. All the following options are less than 5 km away from the tournament area and has something for every taste and budget:


This year's organizing committee